About Us General Research Landscape Research Cases Research Funding Schemes Common Tips for Application Career Development
About Us General Research Landscape Research Cases Research Funding Schemes Common Tips for Application Career Development
EN

Hong Kong is one of the pioneers at saving water!

Water is the source of life but rising pollution due to population growth, industrialization and urbanization threaten to cause a shortage in access to fresh water. As the situation becomes more precarious, learning how to cherish limited water resources is a problem that everyone around the world needs to ponder.

Led by Professor Guanghao Chen at the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, the research team from the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) has developed a cutting edge water recycling system. It has solved the problem of sewage treatment, helping reduce cost as well as meet the increasing demand for fresh water in Hong Kong. Not only that, it has also received international recognition for the technologies used.

Continue
How critical is the water pollution crisis?

Water pollution is causing a global water shortage. It is one of the problems that we must face and solve in the 21st century. How serious is the problem? Let’s understand the hidden crisis by looking at the numbers:

4 billion

4 billion people, nearly two-thirds of the world’s population, face severe water shortage for at least one month every year

2.3 billion

2.3 billion people live in countries where the water supply is inadequate and 733 million live in countries with severe water shortages, such as Pakistan, Eritrea, Turkmenistan, Botswana

2030

By 2030, about 700 million people could be displaced by severe water shortage. In addition, conflicts have occurred in many areas with extreme and high water shortages, and water may be one of the causes of conflicts. These areas include Israel, Libya, Yemen, Afghanistan, Syria and Iraq.

2040

By 2040, about a quarter of the world’s children will be living in areas of extreme water scarcity, for example, eastern and southern Africa

2025

By 2050, half of the world’s population could be living in areas facing water scarcity

Continue

What about the water resources in Hong Kong?

Washing face, brushing teeth, washing hands, flushing… every detail of our life involves water. Hong Kong, with a population of more than seven million, produces two hundred and eighty million tons of domestic sewage every day. It is enough to fill 1,120 standard swimming pools every day. This is how much water we consume on a daily basis.

In order to effectively utilize water resources, Hong Kong has a seawater supply system that provides 80% of the population with seawater for flushing. At present, Hong Kong is one of the very few places in the world that exclusively uses seawater saving about 270 million cubic meters of fresh water every year.

Hong Kong also imports fresh water (Dongjiang water) from the Pearl River Delta and uses a dual pipe system to supply seawater for flushing (22% of total fresh water demand) but its maintenance is expensive.
How can we meet the demand for water? How can the resulting water pollution be controlled?

Professor Guanghao Chen’s research team studied Hong Kong’s water problems in two major directions. They provided two major solutions to the water resources problem, namely the “SANI” Process and “The Future Water Factory”. Read on to learn more about them!

The “SANI” Process

Before learning about the “SANI” process, let’s understand how wastewater is treated.

Wastewater treatment plants remove two main types of pollutants from wastewater, which arise mainly from human excreta: organic matter and nitrogen & phosphorus nutrients. Wastewater treatment plants generally use biological treatment methods like using activated sludge to purify wastewater by having microorganisms “eat” the pollutants. However, it produces sludge, which contains overgrown microorganisms, microbial carcasses and pollutants that microorganisms cannot eat. Learning how to effectively treat sludge has been a question for years.

For example, a sewage treatment plant that treats 100,000 tons of sewage per day generates 50 to 70 tons of sludge every day. Direct treatment of sludge in the plant accounts for about 30-50% of the total cost of the plant taking up space. Moreover, after digesting and dewatering the sludge inside the plant, it’s sent out for disposal. However, there are only two options.

(1) Dispose sludge to the landfill - However, it takes up land, produces unpleasant odor, greenhouse gases and leachate.

(2) Incineration - It generates fly ash and waste gases, creating another pollution problem that would then need to be addressed.

How can we treat wastewater in a less polluting and more efficient way? Professor Chen’s research team invented the “SANI” process, which is a promising solution.

The “SANI” Process

The research team is working with Delft University of Technology in the Netherlands, the University of Cape Town in South Africa and the Airport Authority, Water Supplies Department and Drainage Services Department in Hong Kong to reduce sludge production at the source during the sewage treatment process.

To achieve it, the team transforms the environment so that slow-maturing microorganisms replace the fast-maturing ones, introducing a new microbial assemblage that significantly reduces sludge production. Known as “Sulphate reduction, Autotrophic denitrification and Nitrification Integrated (SANI)”, the abbreviation (SANI) , when enunciated, means “sludge killing” in Chinese thereby describing the technology in a different language.

Professor Chen points out that the transformation of the environment is essential to the technology: “These microorganisms themselves exist in nature, we did not add them; we introduce microorganisms that do not grow even if they eat the sludge replacing the original microorganisms that fatten up dramatically changing the equation in sewage treatment.”

The team started the research as early as 2003 and then started to go outside the laboratory in 2007 to test the new technology in the Tung Chung sewage pumping station and the Shatin sewage treatment plant respectively. The results have reduced sludge volume by 70-90%. The new technology was also found to reduce odour, energy consumption and greenhouse gas emissions as well as reduce the cost of sewage treatment and the space occupied by more than 30%. It took 18 years for the research team to achieve a new breakthrough in wastewater treatment technology.

The new “SANI” process has been well-received internationally for its effectiveness in improving wastewater treatment and helping solve wastewater and sludge treatment problems around the world.

The following are some of the accolades for “SANI”.

• “This system, which combines seawater flushing in Hong Kong with “SANI” technology , is one of the most successful water management systems in the world.”-- International Water Association (IWA) :

• “The “SANI” is most suitable to be used together with seawater flushing and wastewater reuse to save a lot of fresh water and reduce sludge production providing a cheap and sustainable solution for future development of seawater flushing in China’s coastal cities due to water shortage. This will provide a cheap and sustainable solution for the future development of coastal cities in China to switch to seawater flushing due to water shortage.” ---Mogens Henze, Editor-in-Chief of the international journal Water Research and Professor at the Department of Environment and Resources of the Technical University of Denmark

• “ The “SANI” process is based on sulfur cycling which is unique for wastewater treatment normally is seen as a problem, and it makes an advantage out of the sulfur cycling. I believe that having now already a pilot plant at a larger scale pilot plant, almost demonstration scale. It’s a very rapid uptake of the technology and a rapid development. And I am very excited to see this development and see also hopefully the next step in the near future into a full scale demonstration of a full scale plant in a more commercial sense.” --- Mark van Loosdrecht, winner of Stockholm Water Prize, and chair professor in Environmental Biotechnology at the Delft University of Technology.

• The technology has been patented in China, the United States and Japan

• The team was invited to apply the technology in China, Japan, Cuba and the Netherlands, with interest from Peru, Spain, Thailand and the Philippines

• It has been recognized by UNESCO as a way to promote sustainable use of water resources

• Professor Chen has also been elected as a Fellow of the International Water Association, becoming the first Hong Kong scholar receiving this prestigious honor

"SANI" was awarded:

2019 Hong Kong Green Innovations Awards – Gold Award 2018 (the Oscar prize in the green and environment field);
2018 International Water Association (IWA) Global Project Innovation Award - Bronze Award for Breakthrough Research (the only recipient from Asia);
2017 China National Innovation Pioneer Award (the first awardee from Hong Kong);
2015 IWA Distinguished Fellow (only 3 by 2015 and 5 by today in whole China including HK, Macao and Taiwan);
2012 IWA Project Innovation Award - East Asia Honor Award in Applied Research;
2012 IWA Project Innovation Award - Global Honor Award in Applied Research;
2012 IWA Sustainability Specialist Group Prize Run-up Award;
2012 Finalist of Smart Cities Award in Project at the Smart City World Congress in Spain;
2012 The International Huber Technology Prize of Germany - Second Prize

prev next
Continue

The Future Waterworks

SANI’s success has not stopped Professor Chen from studying water resources. After solving the sludge problem, he came up with another way to enhance the use of water resources with new ideas and new technologies.

“Recycled water” has become an essential part of water supply systems in many major cities around the world, ensuring fresh water supply and improving water safety. There are examples of cities around the world where wastewater is safely recycled directly or indirectly into drinking water, and there are also examples of “recycled water” in Australia and Singapore. These examples show that wastewater can be treated and returned to drinking water status and then be recycled.

Water cycle 4.0+

With the “Future Water Factory”, Professor Chen’s research team developed a new water system that uses key technologies to convert saline effluent into a safe, reliable and affordable fresh water source. The system is named “Water cycle 4.0+”.

The project has been carried out in collaboration with the University of Hong Kong, the City University of Hong Kong, the Hong Kong Polytechnic University and the Chinese University of Hong Kong with an expected completion towards the end of 2024.

Learn more about the Four Steps to “Water cycle 4.0+” on the next page.

Four Steps to “Water cycle 4.0+”

Step One
• An advanced Hybrid Forward osmosis and Reverse Osmosis (hereafter referred to as HFRO) system will be developed to treat the primary wastewater effluent directly.
o A large portion of water containing trace levels of pollutants will pass through this system for potable water production.
o The system will pre-concentrate the feed sewage to 10-50% of its original volume.

Step Two
• The HFRO permeate will be further treated by a new Chloramine/UltraViolet AOP process.
o Degrading the emerging micropollutants and inactivate pathogens as well as antibiotic-resistant bacteria (ARB) in the permeate via chloramine, the process helps post-disinfection in water reuse.

Step Three
• Pre-concentrated sewage will be treated by a new saline microbiology-based biological process called Sulfur-conversion and anamMOX (SMOX) for the removal of residual chemical oxygen demand (COD) and nitrogen. It will produce minimal sludge and require very limited aeration.

Step Four
• The SMOX process produces a tiny amount of excess biological sludge which contains valuable chemicals. The research team invented a technology called Valuable chemIcal Production (VIP) to recover these valuable chemicals from SMOX sludge, which can offset the cost of sludge treatment and disposal.

The entire “four-step” new technology process is being tested to assess its technical and economic feasibility as well as its ecological, environmental and health impact.

Significance of Research

The research is expected to be completed by the end of 2024. In the first 18 months, the research team has published more than 60 academic journal articles and received 6 patents for the research in an inter-university collaboration among five universities.

“Water cycle 4.0+” demonstrates the concept of “water is water and resources are resources” and the research will bring different levels of impact and contribution to the water scarcity issue.


‧ Resource Saving
Compared to conventional technologies, the Water Recycling Plant is expected to save*:
Space 30 - 50%
Energy consumption 20 - 40%
Greenhouse gas emissions 20 - 40%
Operating cost 15 - 35%
(*More accurate values will be provided once the project completed)

‧ Local contribution
The results of the study will help Hong Kong transform traditional conventional waterworks or introduce groundbreaking water supply systems in the development of new towns to provide an alternative to drinking water supply.

‧ International contribution
The research will help alleviate freshwater shortages and related problems faced by islands, coastal areas and agricultural regions around the world that rely on groundwater. It will enable Hong Kong to become a new international hub for water research and help other water-scarce regions achieve UN goals for water, agriculture, public health and sanitation at the same time.

prev next
Continue
Being free to explore

Professor Guanghao Chen comes from Jiaxing, a famous town with plentiful access to water in Zhejiang China, where playing and swimming in the river is an important part of his memories growing up. He has an inexplicable affection for water and therefore secretly changed his name with the Chinese character for the element of water so that it remains a part of him throughout life.

He has long focused on water pollution issues in Hong Kong and specialises in the field of environmental engineering. Despite spending a lot of time in sewage treatment plants that are always full of sewage stench, his passion for sewage research never diminishes. His commitment brings far-reaching contributions to humanity’s water resource issues. After a long research career, he encourages future researchers:

It is better to conduct research without a purpose because you will be anxious with it; if you do research purely for exploratory reasons, it does not matter if you fail. Society needs people who are free to explore.

关于我们 香港研究概览 研究个案 研究资助计划 拨款申请小锦囊 就业发展
关于我们 香港研究概览 研究成就 研究资助计划 拨款申请小锦囊 就业发展
EN

香港原来是世界其中一个救水先锋!

水是万物之源,但人口增多、工业化、城市化等,所造成的污染正危及水源量。当水资源越来越珍贵,如何珍惜有限水源,成为各界日思夜想要解决的问题。

香港科技大学土木及环境工程学系讲座教授陈光浩的研究团队,研发最新水循环再用系统,大大改善污水处理问题,亦节省成本,满足了香港对水源日益递增的需求,这些技术更得到国际间的大力肯定。

继续阅读
水污染危机有多危急?

水污染造成全球水资源短缺,是21世纪其中一个人类必须正视和解决的问题。水资源问题有多严重?一起了解以下数字背后隐藏著的危机吧!

40亿

40亿人,相等于近三分之二的世界人口,每年至少有一个月面对严重缺水问题

23亿

23亿人,生活在供水不足的国家,当中7.33 亿人活在严重缺水国度,例如巴基斯坦、厄立特里亚、土库曼斯坦和博茨瓦纳

2030

到 2030 年,约 7 亿人可能因严重缺水而流离失所 。此外,许多极度和高度缺水的地区都出现冲突,水可能是爆发冲突的原因之一。这些地区包括以色列、利比亚、也门、阿富汗、叙利亚和伊拉克

2040

到 2040 年,全世界大约四分之一的儿童将生活在极度缺水的地区,例如非洲东部与南部

2025

到 2050 年,世界上一半的人口可能会生活在面临缺水的地区

继续阅读

香港的水资源又如何?

洗脸、刷牙、洗手、冲厕…….我们生活每一个细节都跟用水密不可分。据统计,七百多万人口的香港每天制造近280万吨生活污水,足以每天注满约1120个标准泳池,消耗之大,可想而知。

为有效运用水资源,香港设有海水供应系统,为全港八成居民供应海水冲厕。现时香港是全球广泛使用海水冲厕的极少数地区之一,每年因而节省约2亿7000万立方米的食水。

香港同时从珠三角进口淡水(东江水),并利用双管系统供应冲厕用海水(占淡水总需求量的22%),但这种双管系统的维修保养成本很高。

究竟应该如何满足香港的用水需求呢?随之造成的水污染又如何控制呢?

陈教授的研究团队分别从两大方向研究香港的水问题,更为水资源问题提供两大解决方案,分别为「杀泥技术」和「未来水工场」,继续阅读再逐一了解吧!

杀泥技术

在了解杀泥技术之前,先了解如何处理污水。

污水处理厂主要去除污水内两种主要来自人类的排泄物的污染物质:有机物和氮磷营养元素。污水处理厂一般采用生物处理法,例如活性污泥法,利用微生物「吃掉」污水中的污染物,以净化污水;然而这样同时会产生污泥,内里包含繁殖过剩的微生物、微生物残余物,以及微生物无法吃掉的污染物质。如何有效地处理污泥,是多年来让人头痛的问题。

以一座每天处理10万吨污水的污水处理厂为例,每天产生约50至70吨污泥。在污水厂内直接处理污泥,占污水厂总成本约30%至50%,而且占用空间。再者,厂内将污泥消化脱水后,就要送出厂外处置,但也只有两个选择:

(1) 送去堆填区,但会占用土地,亦附带臭味和温室气体弥散和渗滤液再次污染;

(2) 焚烧,但随之产生飞灰和废气,是另一个要处理的污染问题。

究竟如何能够低污染、高效能地处理污水呢?陈教授的研究团队发明的杀泥技术,正好带来了解决方案!

杀泥技术

研究团队与荷兰代尔夫特理工大学、南非开普敦大学共同研究,并与香港机场管理局、水务署及渠务署合作 ,希望从源头着手,在污水处理过程中就可减少污泥产量。

为达到这效果,团队塑造特定环境,让繁殖慢的微生物取代繁殖快的微生物,诱发出一个新的微生物组合,大大减低污泥产量。此项技术全名,是「硫酸盐还原、自养反硝化和硝化一体化」(Sulphate reduction, Autotrophic denitrification and Nitrification Integrated,SANI)其英文简称(SANI)的读音有如中文的「杀泥」,刚好反映技术直接带来的效果。

陈教授指出,所塑造的环境就是此技术精要所在:「这些微生物本身就在自然中存在的,不是我们加入的,我们只是让一些怎么吃也不肥的微生物长起来,取代原有吃一点就肥的微生物,把污水处理的方程式改变了不少。」

团队早在2003年开始研究,后于2007年开始跳出实验室,分别在东涌污水泵房及沙田污水处理 厂先后试验新技术,结果分别减少了九成至七成污泥量,成绩令人欣喜,更发现新技术同时舒缓臭味、减低能源消耗及温室气体排放,连处理污水的运营成本及占用空间也减低三成以上 。研究团队花了18年,为污水处理技术带来了新突破。

崭新的杀泥技术有效提升污水处理的效能,有助解决世界各地处理污水与污泥问题,在国际间得到广泛回响。

以下为杀泥技术所得到的讚誉:

• 国际水协:「此项以香港「海水冲厕」结合「杀泥技术」的系统,为全球最成功的水资源管理系统之一。」

• 国际学术期刊Water Research主编、丹麦科技大学环境及资源学系教授 Mogens Henze :「『 杀泥技术』最适宜与『海水冲厕』及『污水回用』一起使用,大量节省淡水,减少污泥产生,为中国沿海城市日后因缺水而改用海水冲厕的可持续发展,提供便宜及可持续的解决方法 。」

• 斯德哥尔摩水奖获得者、荷兰代尔夫特理工大学应用生物技术学院教授Mark van Loosdrecht: 「 『 杀泥技术』利用的硫循环是污水处理中常被视为问题的特殊过程,但这一过程却被巧妙地「转危为机」。『 杀泥技术』已经进行到示范级别的研究,这样的科技研发进度已非常迅速。见到这一科研成果我也非常兴奋,很期待在不久的将来能看到杀泥工艺更加商业化并达至全面运用。」

• 技术先后取得中国、美国及日本专利

• 获邀应用技术到中国、日本、古巴及荷兰等地示范,秘鲁、西班牙、泰国和菲律宾等亦表示感兴趣

• 深受联合国教科文组织关注,用以推广可持续水资源的运用

• 陈光浩教授成为首位获颁发国际水协杰出院士的香港学者

杀泥技术获得以下奖项:

2019 香港绿色创新大奖金奖 2018 (绿色环保领域的奥斯卡奖);
2018 国际水协项目创新奖“突破性科研”铜奖 2018(首位获奖的香港学者)
2017 全国创新争先奖状(首位获奖的香港学者);
2015 国际水协杰出院士(全中国(包括港澳台地区),2015年仅3位,目前仅5位)
2012 国际水协应用研究类项目创新奖-东亚荣誉奖
2012 国际水协应用研究类项目创新奖-全球荣誉奖
2012 国际水协创新可持续城市水管理实际应用奖
2012 西班牙巴塞罗那世界智慧城市-项目类决赛奖
2012 德国国际海柏技术奖-亚军

prev next
继续阅读

未来水工场

杀泥技术的成功,并未令陈教授在研究水资源上停步。解决了污泥问题,他更以崭新思维带来崭新技术,想出了另一个方法进一步提升水资源运用。

「循环再用水」已成为全球众多大城市供水系统中不可或缺的重要部分,这确保淡水供应,并提高了水的安全度。世界各地也有城市直接或间接地将污水安全地循环再用成饮用水,澳洲及新加坡也有值得参考的「循环再用水」事例。这些例子均显示,污水经处理后是能够回到饮用水状态,可以循环再用。

Water cycle 4.0+

陈教授的研究团队以「水资源回收工厂」的意念,开发一种崭新的水系统,采用关键性技术,将含盐污水转换为安全、可靠和实惠的替代淡水资源,此系统命名为「Water cycle 4.0+」。此项目正与香港大学、香港城市大学、香港理工大学及香港中文大学合作,预计于2024年底完成研究。

往下一页了解「Water cycle 4.0+」的四步曲

「Water cycle 4.0+」的四步曲

第一步
• 开发先进的正渗透和反渗透一体化系统(HFRO),作为污水处理的第一步。
o 大部分含微量污染物的水,将透过此系统转换为饮用水
o 这个系统将污水浓缩,令容量减少至原有的10-50%

第二步
• HFRO系统的渗透液,进一步透过新研发的氯胺/紫外线 AOP 技术过程处理
利用氯化物降解当中的微污染物质、灭活病原体及耐药性细菌,有助于「循环再用水」的后消毒程序。

第三步
• 浓缩了的污水将由一个基于微生物反应过程的新技术(Sulfur-conversion and anamMOX (SMOX)),清除污水中的有机碳污染物和无机氮污染物。这个程序只会产生少量的剩余污泥及消耗少量的氧气。

第四步
• SMOX技术会最大程度的降低生物污泥的产生,而且这些剩余污泥中富有非常有价值的生物活性化合物。团队发明的高值化合物生产技术,可在污泥中回收这些珍贵的化学物质,以抵销再生水和处理污泥的成本。

整个「四步曲」新技术程序正在测试阶段,以评估其技术及经济可行性,以及对生态、环境及健康的影响。

研究贡献

有关研究预计于2024年底完成,在五间大学跨校合作下,研究团队在首18个月内,已就研究发表了60多篇学术期刊论文,以及得到6项专利。

「Water cycle 4.0+」示范了「水归水、资源归资源,循环不息」的概念,有关研究将为水资源问题带来不同程度的影响与贡献:

‧ 节省资源
与传统技术相比「水资源回收工厂」预计将节省*:
空间 30 - 50%
能源消耗 20 - 40%
温室气体排放 20 - 40%
运营成本 15 - 35%
(*更精确的数据预计在项目结束后确定)

‧ 本地贡献
研究成果有助香港改造传统常规的城市水系统,或在发展新市镇时引入突破性的供水系统,为饮用水的供应提供替代方案

‧ 国际贡献
研究将可缓解世界各地岛屿、沿海地区、依赖地下咸水的农业地区所面对的淡水短缺及相关问题。此研究有助香港成为新的水资源研究国际中心,协助其他缺水地区同时实现联合国于水、农业、公共卫生和卫生方面制定的目标。

prev next
继续阅读
自由探索 成就另类「臭味相投」

陈光浩教授来自中国名水乡浙江嘉兴,河边嬉戏、游泳是他成长回忆的重要一部分,对水有一份莫名的情感,以至他偷偷的将自己的名字由「陈光豪」变成「陈光浩」,以一个水字旁的「浩」相伴一生。

他长期在港专注研究水污染问题,专职环保工程领域,纵然长期在污水处理厂与污水臭味为伍,亦无减他对研究污水的热情。而这种另类的「臭味相投」,为人类的水资源问题带来深远的贡献。走过段段漫展的研究之路,陈教授寄语后起之秀:

「做科研最好是不为目的去做,有目的就会焦虑;如果纯粹为探索去做,失败就无所谓了。社会就是需要这批去自由探索的人。」