About Us General Research Landscape Research Cases Research Funding Schemes Common Tips for Application Career Development
About Us General Research Landscape Research Cases Research Funding Schemes Common Tips for Application Career Development
EN

A New Non-Invasive Approach to Painless Prostate Cancer Screening

A New Non-Invasive Approach to Painless Prostate Cancer Screening

Prostate cancer, caused by the abnormal and uncontrolled growth of the prostate gland, is a global concern. According to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, one in six men have a chance of developing prostate cancer. Nearly 2,000 men in Hong Kong develop this cancer each year. Prostate cancer is a slow-growing cancer and usually has no obvious symptoms in the early stages of the disease. If treated early, the side effects of treatment can be reduced.

However, the most effective diagnostic method is invasive, which brings a considerable degree of pain, and may lead to false-positive or false-negative results. Professor Wong Ka-Leung, Professor and Head of the Department of Chemistry at Hong Kong Baptist University, has developed a new non-invasive method with an accuracy of over 90%, thereby accurately and conveniently assessing the risk of cancer from the urine of patients.

Continue

Blind spots of existing inspection methods

The most effective way to diagnose prostate cancer is via a biopsy i.e. when a doctor uses a biopsy gun to remove tissue from the prostate by inserting a needle into the prostate from the perineum. Do you know how long the process can take?

1-3 minutes 5-15 minutes 20-30 minutes

Correct answer: 20-30 minutes。
During the process, more than ten extraction steps are performed and the patient will suffer considerable pain, with potential blood in the urine and even a bacterial infection.

To find out whether the patient needs to undertake the biopsy procedure, the doctor will usually perform a preliminary diagnosis called a “rectal exam” or a “serum prostate-specific antigen (PSA) test” beforehand. A PSA test is a blood test that is more common than a rectal exam. For Asians, a PSA level above four is considered high-risk and a “biopsy” is recommended for diagnosis. However, a “PSA level above 4” is not necessarily a result of prostate cancer; it can also result from prostate enlargement, infection or medication. Therefore, a PSA test may give false-positive or false-negative results.

According to the Center for Health Protection, only one out of four patients who undergo a PSA test followed by a biopsy actually has prostate cancer! In other words, many men who undergo the test have to suffer pain and distress for no apparent reason.

prev next
Continue

The new effective, painless way

In order to reduce unnecessary biopsies and find a more reliable and non-invasive way to diagnose prostate cancer, Professor Wong Ka-Leung of the Department of Chemistry, HKBU, together with the Department of Surgery, Division of Urology, The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CU Medicine), have worked together since 2014 to develop a new biomarker to complement the PSA test that spots the lower level of spermidine (a biological alkaloid molecule) in prostate cancer patients. The results show that spermidine levels (a biologic molecule) are lower in prostate cancer patients providing a clue to a more accurate diagnosis.

The team recruited 905 patients at Prince of Wales Hospital and North District Hospital to participate in the study between 2015 and 2019. Patients with PSA levels above 4 underwent a biopsy procedure and 30ml-samples of urine were collected to assess spermidine levels and the net method’s accuracy.

Among the 600 patients with PSA levels between 4 and 20, 185 (30.8%) were diagnosed with prostate cancer after biopsy. Among the 600 patients with urine samples, 49% of those with spermine levels in the lowest quartile had prostate cancer, nearly three times as many as those with spermine levels in the highest quartile, indicating that those with lower levels may be at higher risk for cancer.

The team then used risk factors such as rectal exam results, PSA levels and prostate volume to develop a “spermine risk score”. Patients with a score above 6.2 were considered high risk and recommended for biopsy. Based on the data, about 37% of patients who were originally defined as having a biopsy were cancer-free and should be exempted from the biopsy. The study confirmed that urine spermidine and the “spermidine risk score” was effective in identifying men at high risk for prostate cancer and helped reduce unnecessary biopsies.

Development of chemical reagents to facilitate testing

The team not only has found a more accurate method but also developed a more convenient test tool which makes the screening of PCa more common and convenient.

The team invented the “Prostate Cancer Non-invasive Urine Test Kit”. It detects biomarkers of cancer cells in urine at one-tenth the cost of a PSA blood test.

The research team also found that the concentration of urinary polyamines in human urine is closely related to the risk of prostate cancer. Therefore, they developed a chemosensor that can detect urinary polyamines in the fluid. Then, the team used it to develop a highly sensitive compound that can accurately detect the concentration of urinary polyamines in a urine sample. The user simply mixes a urine sample with a chemical test at home. Within a short time, he will know the probability of developing prostate cancer and decide whether to seek further medical attention.

The advantage of this test method is that the colour can be used to determine the results with the naked eye quickly. The process is non-invasive and demonstrates a high level of accuracy while also being cost-effective. Users only need to use urine for cancer detection through this invention, which significantly enhances convenience and makes cancer screening more popular.

The team also collaborated with Prince of Wales Hospital to collect weekly urine samples for early clinical diagnosis of prostate cancer using a patented technology of more than 80% accuracy, which is two to three times more accurate than the most commonly used PSA test. Currently, the team is working on further research to further increase the accuracy of the test to 90% or higher.

Meanwhile, the team is exploring and studying different biomarkers hoping to apply this technology to the detection of other cancers.

prev next
Continue

Recognition

“Spermine Risk Score” has been launched in Hong Kong this May, which is called “PURE Index”. It aims to evaluate the risk of prostate cancer of men with elevated PSA level, the public can visit the urologists for more details.

The team not only plans to cooperate with medical institutions in China and apply for NMPA Accreditation, hoping the testing service can be used in the domestic medical system, they will also register in PMDA in Japan.


“Prostate Cancer Non-invasive Urine Test Kit” has been recognised by many international organisations since its launch. At the same time, the team is trying to make it more popular so as to benefit more people.

Commercialisation

The “Prostate Cancer Non-invasive Urine Test Kit” will be commercialised and launched in Hong Kong in 2022 so that every household can have the opportunity to be tested at any time.

International accreditation

Special Gold Award of Jury Commendation at the 47th International Exhibition of Inventions in Geneva and International Special Award for Best Invention from the National Research Council of Thailand.

Research results published in the scientific journal “Prostate Cancer and Prostate Diseases.”

Continue

“It has always been my dream to support my research with the profits of my own company. If this is successful, I hope this model can inspire other researchers.”

Professor Wong Ka-Leung is a dedicated researcher and has been publishing research papers since he was a university student. His hobbies are watching soccer and reading newspapers. With numerous awards and frequent exchanges with overseas scholars, he has found that scientific research in Hong Kong is often constrained by external factors, especially funding, and that sustained and long-term funding is crucial for innovative research. Therefore, he has set up a company to carry out basic research, which also provides internship opportunities for researchers from HKBU, offering a solid foundation for their future career development. He encourages future research talents:

“Not only to focus on theories in textbooks but also to get more exposure to different things and to believe that even if we have little power today, we can change the world in the future.”

关于我们 香港研究概览 研究个案 研究资助计划 拨款申请小锦囊 就业发展
关于我们 香港研究概览 研究成就 研究资助计划 拨款申请小锦囊 就业发展
EN

无创前列腺癌检测技术

无创前列腺癌检测技术
安家无痛验癌新里程

前列腺癌由前列腺异常及不受控制地生长引致,是全球关注的问题。根据美国疾病控制及预防中心统计,每六位男性中,就有一人有机会患上前列腺癌。本港每年亦有约近2000名前列腺癌发病个案。前列腺癌是生长缓慢的癌症,病发初期通常没有明显征状。如及早治疗,可减少治疗时所带来的副作用。

然而,现时最有效的诊断方法属入侵性,会令接受检查的人士带来相当程度的痛楚,更存在一定比率的假阳性或假阴性。为了解决这个问题,香港浸会大学化学系黄嘉良教授研发新方法,用家只需用尿液以非入侵性方法即可评估患癌风险,准确度更高达九成!

继续阅读

现有检验方法的盲点

前列腺癌现时最有效的诊断方法是「活检」,即医生利用活检枪,将针的部分从会阴刺入前列腺来抽取组织。你知道「活检」的过程需时多久吗?

1至3分钟 5至15分钟 20至30分钟

正确答案:20至30分钟。
在约20至30分钟的过程中,医生会进行10多次的抽取步骤,病人要承受痛楚,其后亦会出现小便流血、甚至可能细菌感染。

医生一般事前会先做称为「直肠指检」的初步诊断,或「血清前列腺特异抗原(PSA)测试」,以判断是否需要为病人进行「活检」。PSA测试是一种血液测试,较直肠指检普遍,对亚洲人而言,如PSA水平高于4会被视作高风险患者,会建议作「活检」诊断。可是,「PSA水平高于4」并不一定由前列腺癌导致,亦可能受到前列腺增生、感染或药物影响。因此,PSA测试也有机会得出假阳性或假阴性结果。

根据衞生防护中心统计,每4个经PSA测试后再进行活检的病人中,最终只有1人真正患上前列腺癌!结果有不少接受检验的男士,无端承受了痛楚与困扰。

prev next
继续阅读

高效减痛新出路

为减低不必要的「活检」诊断、寻找更可靠及非入侵性的前列腺癌诊断方法,黄嘉良教授先联同香港中文大医学院外科学系泌尿外科组,自2014年起跨学科合作,发掘新的生物标记以补足PSA测试。团队结果发现一般前列腺癌患者的精胺水平(一种生物硷分子)较低,为诊断前列腺癌提供了更准确的新线索。

团队在2015至2019年间,于威尔斯亲王医院和北区医院招募905名病人参与研究,若病人PSA水平高于4,会分别进行活检程序与收集30毫升尿液来检测精胺水平,以比较两者准确度。

结果发现,在600名PSA水平介乎4至20的病人中,透过活检后有185人诊断患上前列腺癌,占30.8 %。而在该600人的尿液样本中,精胺水平在最低4分位数的病人,约有49%患有前列腺癌,是精胺水平在最高4分位数病人的近3倍,显示水平较低者,患癌风险较高。

团队再利用直肠指检结果、PSA水平及前列腺体积等风险因素,制订「精胺风险评分」,评分高于6.2的病人,会被视为高风险,建议进行活检程序。根据数据计算,显示有约37%的病人原被界定要做活检,但其实并无患癌,可免做活检。此研究确定尿精胺及「精胺风险评分」有效识别有高风险患上前列腺癌的男性,并有助减少不必要的活检。

向方便检测出发 开发化学试剂

研究团队除了寻得更准确的测试方法,亦研发了方便易用的检测工具,令前列腺癌测试能更普及,便利用者。

团队发明出「前列腺癌无创尿液检测试剂盒」,检测尿液中受癌细胞影响的生物标记,成本亦只是PSA 血液测试的十分之一。

研究团队亦发现人体尿液中尿多胺的浓度,与患上前列腺癌的风险有密切关系。因此,他们先研制出一种能于液体中检测尿多胺的化学感测物,再利用这化学感测物发展出灵敏度极高的复合物。这种复合物可以准确地检测出尿液样本中的尿多胺浓度,用户只需自行在家中将尿液样本与化学试剂混合,然后在短时间内便可知道患上前列腺癌的机率,再决定是否需要进一步求医。

这种检测方法的好处是可凭试剂的颜色,以肉眼快速判断结果,而且过程非侵入性、准确度高,又具成本效益。透过这个新发明,用者只需利用尿液就可作检测,大大提升方便程度,令检测能够更为普及。

此外,团队与威尔斯亲王医院合作,每星期收集尿液样本,利用检测专利技术作前列腺癌早期临床诊断,准确度高达八成以上,比起最常用的PSA检测高出两至三倍。现时,团队正深入研究将检测的准确度进一步提升至九成或以上。

与此同时,团队正积极发掘及研究不同的生物标记,希望可以将此技术应用于检测其他癌症。

prev next
继续阅读

各界认可

「精胺风险评分」在今年五月已推出香港市场,名为「谱宜评分」,旨在为PSA偏高的男士作前列腺癌风险评估,市民可以向泌尿科医生查询。

团队除了计划与国内医疗单位合作,并申请国家药品监督管理局资格认定(National Medical Products Administration),希望将这项检测服务用于国内医疗体系外,团队亦将会在日本的医药品医疗机器综合机构(Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)申请注册。

「前列腺癌无创尿液检测试剂盒」自推出以来,得到不少国际认同。同时,团队正以不同方法令测试剂盒更趋普及,让更多人受惠。

商品化

「前列腺癌无创尿液检测试剂盒」将商品化,目标于2022年在香港推出市面,令家家户户均有机会随时检验。

国际殊荣

第 47 届日内瓦国际发明展「评判嘉许特别金奖」及「泰国国家研究局国际最佳发明特别大奖」

研究结果发表于科学期刊《前列腺癌和前列腺疾病》

继续阅读

「一直以来,以自己公司的盈利支持自己的研究,是我的梦想。如这样成功了,我希望这模式可供其他科研人员借镜。」

黄嘉良教授醉心研究,早在读大学时期已开始发表研究论文,「茶余饭后的兴趣,不是看足球,就是看论文」。他获奖无数,与海外学者交流频繁,发现本港的科研常常受制于外围因素,特别是资金,「持续及长期的资金对创新研究来说非常重要!」。故他自己成立公司,以便安心开展基础研究,更会聘请浸会大学的研究生实习,为他们往后的发展做好准备。他鼓励未来研究人才:

「不只埋首课本上的理论,应多向外接触不同事物;亦要确信即使今日的力量微小,他朝也可改变世界。」